Home Asset Management

Software metering and exclusion functionality

Matthias_GebhardtMatthias_Gebhardt Customer IT Monkey ✭
edited August 2018 in Asset Management
Hi Cireson community,

I am quite new to system center and Cireson. I searched the kb/community page for over an hour now but it seems like I am not finding the solution to my problem. If there already is a discussion regarding this topic, sorry for the double post, I was not able to find it.

Ok, here is my problem:
In our company, we are using Microsoft volume licenses with SA. The installation base is kind of a wild spread. At the moment we got all main versions from 2007 - 2016, standard and professional editions, project and visio, same version and edition wildspread.

My goal is, to create software assets which match correctly with the license use rights, for example:
Mircosoft Office 2010 professional, Microsoft Office 2013 professional, Microsoft Office 2016 professional => match against the Office professional license.

But I am failing and it looks like, the cause is my usage of "software metering" and "exclusion".

Let's take Visio Standard for example, it's the asset I am experimenting most with at the moment:

I can't find a normalization for example Visio Standard, which matches correctly only with Visio Standard installations.

I extracted the possible software names after I set the software pattern only to "%Visio%" and left the exclusion pattern empty:
Microsoft Office Visio 2010
Microsoft Office Visio 2010
Microsoft Office Visio MUI (German) 2007
Microsoft Office Visio MUI (German) 2010
Microsoft Office Visio MUI (German) 2010
Microsoft Office Visio Professional 2007
Microsoft Office Visio Standard 2007
Microsoft Visio MUI (German) 2016
Microsoft Visio Premium 2010
Microsoft Visio Professional 2010
Microsoft Visio Professional 2010
Microsoft Visio Professional 2016
Microsoft Visio Viewer 2010
Microsoft Visio Viewer 2013
Microsoft Visio Viewer 2016