Home Analyst Portal

updated portal to version 8.9 but have lost my customisation

Mina_SaidiMina_Saidi Customer IT Monkey ✭

Hi All,

I have updated our portal within the dev environment to the latest version it has installed successfully. how ever we lost our customization, our home screen etc.

we have our customizations on

D:\InetPub\CiresonPortal\CustomSpace but they haven't loaded.

im new to this, so im a little confused on what to do from here.

any ideas? thanks

Answers

• Gerhard_GoossensGerhard_Goossens Customer Advanced IT Monkey ✭✭✭
    In theory, the installer should backup the CustomSpace folder and restore it after the installation is done. I have had an instance where the folder was not copied back. So what I do now before the update is copy the CustomSpace folder to another location on the drive, run the installer and copy the folder back manually and accepting all the overwrite prompts.

You followed Ciresons recommendations correctly by placing all customizations in the CustomSpace folder, so this is not an error on your part. But, Cireson also states that you should make backups because well life happens :-)
  • Mina_SaidiMina_Saidi Customer IT Monkey ✭
    hi Gerhad, 

yes, we had taken a snapshot so its fine. i have a feeling the initial install was pointing to c:\inetpub location while our custom space folder is on D:\inetPub\CiresonPortal. so we are running at again, triple checking all the details, how ever this time it has taken a very long time. Its nearly done as the progress bar is towards the end but it has been stuck for the past 45 minutes. Im letting it run overnight to see what happens. 

how long do they take normally? I'm guessing well hoping it takes long due to the customisations loading but its been a while. 
  • Gerhard_GoossensGerhard_Goossens Customer Advanced IT Monkey ✭✭✭