Home Asset Management

Need to import into Assets with data from various sources

Thomas_StickelThomas_Stickel Customer IT Monkey ✭
I did look at documentation and discusssions, but I'm in need of getting started with importing Vendor, Catalog Items, Hardware assets etc..    
1. I am a full-stack developer with SSIS ETL knowledge
2. There is a list of items I am being told that needs to get loaded into 4 environments  (dev,qa,uat,prod)  
3. Some of the data is tracked with Excel - thus I assume I will have to write some ETL SSIS package to map the data and insert - but I really don't want to screw this up as I don't really know all the tables to insert into.  Thoughts?  links?
4. I did install the VSTO add-in ribbon into Excel and I can connect to Service Manager Console with it , but I'm not sure if large imports are useful with that tool  , right?
5. Is there already a set and preferred way to do ETL into the Cireson ServiceManagement Database ( or do i instead into into tables of Servicemanager of Microsoft ?   
6. How do i get up to speed to learn the steps that I need in order to import all this data? 

Here is a list of items I need to import:

(i think N/A are things i don't need to import ) 

• Vendor
  • Subnet 
  • Organization
  • Cost Center 
  • Purchase Order 
  • Invoice (N/A)
  • License (N/A)
  • Lease contract (N/A)
  • Warranty Contract (N/A)
  • Support and Maintenance contract
  • Purchase
  • Software Asset (N/A)
  • Hardware Asset
  • Consumables (N/A)
Thanks in advance for helping me to find out the best practices on how to do this.

Best Answer

Answers

• Thomas_StickelThomas_Stickel Customer IT Monkey ✭
    How do i find this ?

Default workflow log path when creating connectors:
    • Specify a local or UNC path to use as the default log path when creating new connectors, this path must be valid from the Workflow Server and accessible to the Workflow Account
  • Brian_WiestBrian_Wiest Customer Super IT Monkey ✭✭✭✭✭