Home Analyst Portal
Options

How to set Assigned To user field when null when Incident is Resolved

Nicola_SchubertNicola_Schubert Customer IT Monkey ✭

Hi All

We have a lot of situations where our Analysts are not Assigning their tickets before Resolving an Incident.

Has anyone come up with a neat way of either setting this field automatically when the Incident is set to Resolved OR not allowing the Incident to be set to Resolved if the field is Null.

We do not want to make the field mandatory unless it is Resolved.

Any ideas or clues would be appreciated. I am a newbie to writing custom js.

Thanks

Nic.

Best Answer

Answers

• Options
    Adam_DzyackyAdam_Dzyacky Product Owner Contributor Monkey ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited January 2017
    You could have a SCO runbook that monitors for Incidents that move into a Resolved state, evaluate the "assigned to" property, if its empty force the status back to "Active" so it appears in the queue again, OR grab the "resolved by" user relationship and then set it to the "assigned to" relationship and then simply leave it resolved.

This prevents the need to create solution wholly unique to the portal. Not to mention it would work across the portal and console.
  • Options
    Tom_HendricksTom_Hendricks Customer Super IT Monkey ✭✭✭✭✭
    I want to add support to @adam_dzyacky's latter idea of targeting the "Assigned To" field.  This is the approach we are currently focusing on. 

Also, while I am not able to mock this up at the moment, it should not be too difficult to create a task to populate the Assignee field with the current user if the status is Resolved, but getting it to trigger on save is the part I have not personally worked with yet.  Perhaps someone else has more experience capturing that event?
  • Options
    Geoff_RossGeoff_Ross Cireson Consultant O.G.
    @Adam_Dzyacky I'm a bit confused by your answer, which in itself confuses me as you always talk sense.