Home General Discussion
Options

Auto Generating tickets

Lester_PrestonLester_Preston Customer IT Monkey ✭

We have to run audit on a semi annual bases and would like to have tickets that are set to be created based on a schedule. Some audit need to be done monthly others would need to be done every 6 months as an example.

Answers

• Options
    Simon_ZeinhoferSimon_Zeinhofer Customer Ninja IT Monkey ✭✭✭✭

Way 1: use a Schedule Runbook in System Center Orchestrator, which then triggers another runbook, that then creates the Incident(s).

Way 2: Create a schedule in windows task scheduler and use an Smlet Script to create the Incident(s)

• Options

Thank you Simon, I am very new to SCSM and Cireson so I will have to research your suggestions. I believe we have an Orchestrator server here so I am going to start there.

• Options
    edited May 2023

@Lester_Preston Nice :)

If you need help with it, I can assist you - as much as my time lets me ;)

But especially SMlets is something I can only recommend trying / learning, as it makes working with SCSM 100 times more comfortable.

To add way 3/4: You can also use Azure Automation, which then runs a script via a hybrid worker to create the incident. Or you use the Cireson Connector for Power Automate - Although I have to add, we are not able to use it, because we do not use Pass Thru Authentication (we use MFA authentiation method) in our Azure Proxy App. I don't know if it's only intended to work with pass thru or we did some misconfiguration.

Way 5 would be the usage of a script and creating the incident via the Cireson Cloud Connector / API, but as currently the cloud connector does not work with put/patch methods, I would not recommend it right now

• Options

Can you point me in the right direction to download SMlets? I am not finding a good source to pull it form.

• Options
    edited June 2023

There are options for that: