Home Asset Management
Options

Best Practices of handling Organization objects after organizational changes

Csaba_RozinyakCsaba_Rozinyak Premier Partner IT Monkey ✭

Hi,

I am a Service Manager/Orchestrator consultant but new to Cireson Asset Management. One of my customers has recently carried out some organizational changes that we would like to reflect somehow in Asset Management with regards organizations. Asset Management has so far contained over 700 Organization objects in the \Configuration Items\Asset Management\Administration\Organizations\All Organizations view. Each has its own cost center and many of them are related to one or more software assets and work items. What concerns us the most though is the cost center in this scenario.

All these organizations were imported via a one-off CSV file that we received from HR. As far as I know HR will provide us with a new CSV file but we would like to understand the consequences of importing it. I know the connector allows not having to overwrite existing config items but in case we choose to do so additional new items would be created - if I am not wrong.

Our goal is to:

- minimize the number of organization items, if possible by merging them

- we would like to minimize the manual efforts of having to update all cost center codes

- understand what would be the best way to handle these configuration items when there are organizational changes where departments might get new names, others merged, etc.

When it comes to merging two organization config items, I have seen that there is a possibility to create a parent organization but I am not sure if this is what we are supposed to use instead of importing a new list.

Hoping someone could point out a few things to take into consideration or provide some direction :).

KR,

Csaba

Answers

• Options
    Tony_CollettTony_Collett Cireson Support Super IT Monkey ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi Csaba,