*Cireson Portal Tip* Configuring an end-user as a reviewer for the Cireson Portal
Out of the box end-users will not be scoped to see any work items. Analyst out of the box are scoped to see all work items. In this scenario we will walk through scoping a normal end-user to have the ability to access and approve activities assigned to them.
When creating a user roll a common pitfall one run into is creating an end-user work item queue giving the user scoped access to the activity allowing them to see it in their mywork view in the Cireson Portal but when the user clicks on the work item they are presented with an accessed denied. Typically this will happen when an end-user is scoped to access a review activity but they are not scoped to have access to the parent work item.
As you can seen in the example below. Adam Barr is a normal end-user that is part of the domain. He does not belong to any specific groups:
What we want to do is give Adam permission to view and approve any activity he is assigned to.
1. Create a queue in SCSM that contains the work items that you wish this user to have access to. Here I have created a Queue called Activities with the criteria to view all activities that are in an In Progress status.
2. We must also create a queue giving the user access to the Parent work item.
3. Now we must configure a user role that will give the end-user permission to access the work item queues we just created. For simplicity I have chosen the Activity Implementer role.
4. Next we will want to configure the work item queue and ensure the user role has access to the activity queue and the parent work items queue.
5. We want to ensure that we place the user or defined group into the user roles as well.The remaining tabs of the user role can be configured to your specifications.Once the user role configuration is complete you will need to restart the cachebuilder service as work item scoped access is also updated if work items are added/removed from queues that are used by user roles for scoping or users are added/removed from user roles.